By cable car on Mount Faito

By cable car on Mount Faito

By cable car on Mount Faito

By cable car on Mount Faito it is an amazing experience, not to be missed: from sea level to 1100 meters on the mountain in about 8 minutes, enjoying breathtaking views.

Mount Faito, our “good giant” overlooking the sea, is part of the mountain range of the Lattari mountains. 1,131 meters high, it has access from both Castellammare di Stabia and Vico Equense and can also be reached in about eight minutes with the cable car of the same name which leaves from the circumvesuviana station of Castellammare di Stabia in Piazza Unità d’Italia.

The cable car station is about 900 meters from our holiday home and can be easily reached on foot in 10 minutes or with a convenient train stop only 170 meters away.

Book now! Stabia Holiday House, your holiday home.

By cable car on Mount Faito

The Cable car

With the cableway from Castellammare di Stabia you arrive directly on Mount Faito, in about 8 minutes, admiring an exceptional panorama: the Gulf of Naples, Vesuvius and Castellammare di Stabia.

Unique experience not to be missed.

By cable car on Mount Faito, Stabia Holiday House

Mount Faito is formed mainly of limestone type rocks. It owes its name to beech trees that grow luxuriantly on its slopes: there are even several beech trees that are over four hundred years old and reach a circumference of over six meters.

View of the gulf of Naples from Faito mountain

It is one of the most popular destinations for tourists, the ideal place for those who want to walk breathing oxygen, nature and scents of holm oaks and chestnuts, crossing the charm of the woods you have the feeling of being a few meters from the sky but with a breathtaking view of the sea ​​and especially on the Gulf of Naples.

The wood of Mount Faito and the ship Amerigo Vespucci

In past centuries, the mountain was exploited for the production of wood: it was thanks to this important resource that in 1783 King Ferdinand I of the Two Sicilies was able to build the Shipyard in Castellammare di Stabia, which supplied itself with timber coming from the woods of Faito, for the construction of ships. Many famous ships were built in the shipyard of Castellammare di Stabia, one above all the Amerigo Vespucci school ship.

By cable car on Mount Faito
Sorrento Coast view from Mount Faito

Another important function that the mountain had concerned the production of ice: during the winter season, in fact, large ditches were filled with layers of snow and leaves, which with the passage of time, became ice that could be used especially during the summer season for the food storage.

To visit the Sanctuary of San Michele Arcangelo on mount Faito

The history of the sanctuary of San Michele Arcangelo is closely linked to the figures of San Catello and Sant’Antonino: the latter, escaped from the abbey of Montecassino following the looting by the Lombards, towards the end of the sixth century, arrived in Stabia , where the bishop of the time, Catello, with whom he had made a deep friendship, entrusted the diocese to him, to retire to the contemplative life on Mount Faito, at the time called Aureo;

shortly afterwards the parts reversed and Antonino moved to the mountain, living in solitude in a cave and feeding on herbs.

Sanctuary of San Michele on Mount Faito
The Sanctuary of San Michele Arcangelo

Soon Catello also returned to the mountain, both for the desire to continue a life in meditation, and to follow a good part of the population of the area, who because of the Lombard incursions, had decided to take refuge on the slopes of the mountain. One night, St. Michael the Archangel appeared in a dream to the two saints, ordering them the construction of a chapel in his honor: in a short time, on the highest peak of the Lattari mountains, or Monte Sant’Angelo, also known by the name of Molare, a first wooden temple was built and later finished with a lead roof, thanks to a donation from the Holy See.

A bit of history

In 1689 the church was struck by lightning which caused the roof to collapse: it was therefore decided to undertake major renovations, to which others were added in 1694. In 1703 San Michele was proclaimed co-patron of Castellammare di Stabia, while the September 28, 1762.

The fire

In 1818 the sanctuary was destroyed by a fire: rebuilt, consecrated on 29 July 1843 by Monsignor Angelo Scanzano and the saint in gratitude, two days later, he renewed the miracle of sweating, which was shown to King Ferdinand II, on vacation in royal palace of Quisisana.

In 1862, due to the raids of the brigands, all forms of pilgrimage ceased and the temple fell into ruins: on 20 December the statue, heavily vandalized and struck by lightning, was recovered and taken to the Stabiese cathedral, where it is kept.

Subsequently attempts were made in vain to rebuild the church as in 1899 at the behest of Count Girolamo Giusso or on 2 July 1935 at the behest of the bishop Pasquale Ragosta, a project later abandoned due to the War of Ethiopia.

The reconstruction

The construction work on the new sanctuary, by the commander Amilcare Sciaretta began on 24 October 1937 and was consecrated on 24 September 1950, after a long interruption due to the outbreak of the Second World War: all the bricks that were used for the construction were brought by the devotees on foot as a gift to St. Michael; over the years the cult for San Michele increased considerably.

From 1971 to 1973, redevelopment works were prepared at the behest of Monsignor Oscar Reschigg.

cable car timetable Cable car timetable cable car timetable

Book now our holiday home to enjoy the cable car, Mount Faito and other attractions in the area.

Required fields are followed by *






Leave a comment